Skip to main content
Campus photo
Photo: G. Edward Johnson / Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0

American Public University System

Charles Town, WV

Private for-profitTown: FringeYellow Ribbon (undergraduate)
Visit Site
100%
Acceptance Rate
40,074
Undergraduates
$8k
Tuition
57%
6-yr grad rate
$44k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)

Want help deciding if American Public University System is worth it?

Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.

Data as of May 2026
Can I Get In?
100%
Open Admission
Acceptance Rate (2023-24)
100% of applicants admitted
SAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
40,074 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Private for-profit · Town: Fringe
Your MatchBasic and up
100% acceptance rate. Compare your scores against admitted students — is this a Match, Reach, or Safety for you?
Can I Afford It?
Tuition (2024-25)
$8,400
Average Net Price (2023-24)
$9,597
This college's average after grants, all family incomes. Not your price.
$21,743Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$44,409/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio49%
Your Net Price EstimateBasic and up
See what American Public University System is likely to cost at your family's income, after grants.
Why Go Here?
6-yr grad rate57%
First-year retention97%
$44k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
25:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
40.1k
Undergraduates
Large
Private for-profit · Town: Fringe
Your Scores HereBasic and up
Is this school right for you? See how your SAT, ACT and GPA compare with admitted students.
How Does It Stack Up?
#17
Deal Score in WV
of 63 rated colleges
Deal Score88
Excellent value
53% First-Gen Students
25% Pell Grant Recipients
Your Admission ChanceBasic and up
See your admission chance at American Public University System, based on your scores and GPA.
Get Basic →
At a Glance
American Public University System is a private for-profit college in Charles Town, WV. It enrolls 40,074 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
88
/ 100
Excellent value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
25:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
Not reported
GPA (CDS)
Application Deadline
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Tuition (2024-25)$8,400
Avg net price, % of cost of attendance (2023-24)51%
Median Debt at Graduation$21,743
Highest-Earning Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$85k/yr
Fire Protection$73k/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$68k/yr
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$67k/yr
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations$66k/yr
International/Globalization Studies$64k/yr
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
4
Career
9
Value
Town: Fringe
Setting

Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.

College Decoded Grades

Not enough data
Academics
A
Value
C
Outcomes
A
Diversity
Not enough data
Housing

Explore more

All colleges in West Virginia

Nearby colleges

Careers graduates pursue

How much do families pay at American Public University System?

Average net price by family income at American Public University System
Family incomeAverage net price
$0 to $30,000$9,335
$30,001 to $48,000$9,766
$48,001 to $75,000$8,951
$75,001 to $110,000$15,559
Over $110,000Not reported

Average net price after grants, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab

See your real chances and true cost at American Public University System