Skip to main content
Campus photo
Photo: Northern-Virginia-Photographer / Wikimedia Commons / CC0

Liberty University

Lynchburg, VA

Private nonprofitCity: SmallYellow Ribbon (undergraduate)Test Optional
Visit Site
99%
Acceptance Rate
50,012
Undergraduates
$22k
Tuition
65%
6-yr grad rate
$45k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)

Want help deciding if Liberty University is worth it?

Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.

Data as of May 2026
Can I Get In?
99%
Accessible
Acceptance Rate (2024-25)
Test Optional
99% of applicants admitted
SAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
Avg Admitted GPA (CDS)4.00
50,012 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Private nonprofit · City: Small
Early Action: Dec 31, 2026
Rolling Admissions
Your MatchBasic and up
99% acceptance rate. Compare your scores against admitted students — is this a Match, Reach, or Safety for you?
Can I Afford It?
Tuition (2024-25)
$22,465
Average Net Price (2023-24)
$29,357
This college's average after grants, all family incomes. Not your price.
$24,500Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$44,813/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio55%
Your Net Price EstimateBasic and up
See what Liberty University is likely to cost at your family's income, after grants.
Why Go Here?
6-yr grad rate65%
First-year retention80%
$45k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
18:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
50.0k
Undergraduates
Large
Private nonprofit · City: Small
Your Scores HereBasic and up
Is this school right for you? See how your SAT, ACT and GPA compare with admitted students.
How Does It Stack Up?
#71
Deal Score in VA
of 105 rated colleges
Deal Score72
Good value
42% First-Gen Students
38% Pell Grant Recipients
Your Admission ChanceBasic and up
See your admission chance at Liberty University, based on your scores and GPA.
Get Basic →
73Days
Next Application Deadline
Early Action: Dec 31, 2026
From the school’s admissions page, checked Sep 23, 2026. The year is projected for this cycle; confirm it with the school. Source
At a Glance
Liberty University is a private nonprofit college in Lynchburg, VA. It enrolls 50,012 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
72
/ 100
Good value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
18:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
4.00
GPA (CDS)
Test Optional
Application Deadline
Early Action: Dec 31, 2026
via Common Application
Cost & Financial Aid
Tuition (2024-25)$22,465
Avg net price, % of cost of attendance (2023-24)70%
Room & Board (2024-25)$13,835
Median Debt at Graduation$24,500
Highest-Earning Programs
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$76k/yr
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$72k/yr
Military Systems and Maintenance Technology$66k/yr
Mechanical Engineering$66k/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$56k/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$56k/yr
How to Apply
Early ActionDec 31, 2026
Rolling AdmissionsNo deadline
From the school’s admissions page; years projected for fall 2027 entry. Source
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
4
Career
7
Value
City: Small
Setting

Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.

College Decoded Grades

Not enough data
Academics
B
Value
C
Outcomes
Not enough data
Diversity
Not enough data
Housing

Explore more

All colleges in Virginia

Nearby colleges

Careers graduates pursue

How much do families pay at Liberty University?

Average net price by family income at Liberty University
Family incomeAverage net price
$0 to $30,000$30,667
$30,001 to $48,000$27,807
$48,001 to $75,000$27,347
$75,001 to $110,000$27,142
Over $110,000$30,545

Average net price after grants, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab

See your real chances and true cost at Liberty University