Skip to main content
Campus photo
Photo: NativeTexan55 / Wikimedia Commons / CC BY-SA 3.0

Western Governors University

Salt Lake City, UT

Private nonprofitSuburb: LargeYellow Ribbon (undergraduate)
Visit Site
100%
Acceptance Rate
155,088
Undergraduates
$9k
Tuition
46%
6-yr grad rate
$61k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)

Want help deciding if Western Governors University is worth it?

Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.

Data as of May 2026
Can I Get In?
100%
Open Admission
Acceptance Rate (2023-24)
100% of applicants admitted
SAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
Avg Admitted GPA (CDS)3.30
155,088 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Private nonprofit · Suburb: Large
Your MatchBasic and up
100% acceptance rate. Compare your scores against admitted students — is this a Match, Reach, or Safety for you?
Can I Afford It?
Tuition (2024-25)
$8,658
Average Net Price (2023-24)
$12,548
This college's average after grants, all family incomes. Not your price.
$11,116Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$60,615/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio18%
Your Net Price EstimateBasic and up
See what Western Governors University is likely to cost at your family's income, after grants.
Why Go Here?
6-yr grad rate46%
First-year retention65%
$61k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
42:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
155.1k
Undergraduates
Large
Private nonprofit · Suburb: Large
Your Scores HereBasic and up
Is this school right for you? See how your SAT, ACT and GPA compare with admitted students.
How Does It Stack Up?
#14
Deal Score in UT
of 46 rated colleges
Deal Score80
Excellent value
47% First-Gen Students
39% Pell Grant Recipients
Your Admission ChanceBasic and up
See your admission chance at Western Governors University, based on your scores and GPA.
Get Basic →
At a Glance
Western Governors University is a private nonprofit college in Salt Lake City, UT. It enrolls 155,088 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
80
/ 100
Good value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
42:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
3.30
GPA (CDS)
Application Deadline
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Tuition (2024-25)$8,658
Avg net price, % of cost of attendance (2023-24)75%
Median Debt at Graduation$11,116
Highest-Earning Programs
Computer Software and Media Applications$95k/yr
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations$93k/yr
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$92k/yr
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$86k/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$84k/yr
Computer Science$84k/yr
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
6
Career
8
Value
Suburb: Large
Setting

Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.

College Decoded Grades

Not enough data
Academics
B
Value
C
Outcomes
Not enough data
Diversity
Not enough data
Housing

Explore more

All colleges in Utah

Nearby colleges

Careers graduates pursue

How much do families pay at Western Governors University?

Average net price by family income at Western Governors University
Family incomeAverage net price
$0 to $30,000$12,064
$30,001 to $48,000$12,436
$48,001 to $75,000$12,578
$75,001 to $110,000$14,824
Over $110,000$12,734

Average net price after grants, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab

See your real chances and true cost at Western Governors University