Skip to main content
Campus photo
Photo: Kire1975 / Wikimedia Commons / CC0

San Diego State University

San Diego, CA

PublicCity: LargeTest Optional
Visit Site
36%
Acceptance Rate
35,377
Undergraduates
$21k
Out-of-state tuition
76%
6-yr grad rate
$65k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)

Want help deciding if San Diego State University is worth it?

Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.

Data as of September 2026
Can I Get In?
36%
Selective
Acceptance Rate (2024-25)
Test Optional
36% of applicants admitted
SAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
Avg Admitted GPA (CDS)4.00
$70 application fee
35,377 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Public · City: Large
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
Your MatchBasic and up
36% acceptance rate. Compare your scores against admitted students — is this a Match, Reach, or Safety for you?
What San Diego State University rates very important: Rigor of secondary school record, Academic GPA (its 2025-26 Common Data Set). This is how the college weighs all applicants, not part of your chance above. · Source
Can I Afford It?
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)
$21,328
Average Net Price (2023-24)
$15,364
This college's average after grants, all family incomes. Not your price.
$15,000Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$64,909/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio23%
Your Net Price EstimateBasic and up
See what San Diego State University is likely to cost at your family's income, after grants.
Why Go Here?
6-yr grad rate76%
First-year retention91%
$65k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
22:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
35.4k
Undergraduates
Large
Public · City: Large
Your Scores HereBasic and up
Is this school right for you? See how your SAT, ACT and GPA compare with admitted students.
How Does It Stack Up?
#93
Deal Score in CA
of 492 rated colleges
Deal Score85
Excellent value
41% First-Gen Students
32% Pell Grant Recipients
Your Admission ChanceBasic and up
See your admission chance at San Diego State University, based on your scores and GPA.
Get Basic →
42Days
Next Application Deadline
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
From the school’s admissions page, checked Sep 23, 2026. The year is projected for this cycle; confirm it with the school. Source
At a Glance
San Diego State University is a public college in San Diego, CA. It enrolls 35,377 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
85
/ 100
Excellent value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
22:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
4.00
GPA (CDS)
Test Optional
Application Deadline
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
via Cal State Apply
Cost & Financial Aid
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)$21,328
Avg net price, % of cost of attendance (2023-24)55%
Students Receiving Aid (CDS 2024-25)58%
Room & Board (2024-25)$23,030
Median Debt at Graduation$15,000
Highest-Earning Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$100k/yr
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$82k/yr
Computer Engineering$77k/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$75k/yr
Computer Science$75k/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$74k/yr
How to Apply
Application deadlineNov 30, 2026
From the school’s admissions page; years projected for fall 2027 entry. Source
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
6
Career
8
Value
City: Large
Setting

Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.

College Decoded Grades

Not enough data
Academics
A
Value
B
Outcomes
A+
Diversity
Not enough data
Housing

Explore more

All colleges in California

Nearby colleges

Careers graduates pursue

How much do families pay at San Diego State University?

Average net price by family income at San Diego State University
Family incomeAverage net price
$0 to $30,000$9,910
$30,001 to $48,000$10,017
$48,001 to $75,000$12,697
$75,001 to $110,000$15,891
Over $110,000$23,821

Average net price after grants, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab

See your real chances and true cost at San Diego State University