Campus photo
Photo: Jami (Wiki Ed) / Wikimedia Commons / CC BY-SA 4.0University of California-San Diego
La Jolla, CA
27%
Acceptance Rate
34,948
Undergraduates
$51k
Out-of-state tuition
86%
6-yr grad rate
$85k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
Want help deciding if University of California-San Diego is worth it?
Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.
Data as of September 2026
Can I Get In?
27%
Very Selective
Acceptance Rate (2024-25)
Test BlindSAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
Avg Admitted GPA (CDS)3.25
$80 application fee
34,948 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Public · City: Large
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
Can I Afford It?
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)
$50,958
Average Net Price, In-State (2023-24)
$12,470
This college's average after grants for in-state students, all family incomes. Not your price.
$15,500Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$84,943/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio18%
Why Go Here?
$85k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
19:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
34.9k
Undergraduates
Large
Public · City: Large
How Does It Stack Up?
#72
Deal Score in CA
of 492 rated colleges
Deal Score86
Excellent value
40% First-Gen Students
34% Pell Grant Recipients
42Days
Next Application Deadline
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
From the school’s admissions page, checked Sep 23, 2026. The year is projected for this cycle; confirm it with the school. Source
At a Glance
University of California-San Diego is a public college in La Jolla, CA. It enrolls 34,948 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
86
/ 100
Excellent value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
19:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
3.25
GPA (CDS)
Test Blind
Application Deadline
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
via UC Application
Cost & Financial Aid
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)$50,958
Avg net price (in-state students), % of cost of attendance (2023-24)32%
Room & Board (2024-25)$18,970
Median Debt at Graduation$15,500
Highest-Earning Programs
Computer Science$112k/yr
Computer Engineering$96k/yr
Mathematics and Computer Science$90k/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$81k/yr
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology$77k/yr
Mechanical Engineering$70k/yr
How to Apply
Application deadlineNov 30, 2026
From the school’s admissions page; years projected for fall 2027 entry. Source
Apply via
UC Application
$80 fee
Explore Careers
Discover careers related to University of California-San Diego's top programs
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
8
Career
9
Value
City: Large
Setting
Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.
College Decoded Grades
Not enough data
Academics
A
Value
A
Outcomes
A+
Diversity
Similar Schools to Explore
View all →
University of California-Irvine
Irvine, CA
Acceptance
29%
Deal
85
Out-of-state tuition
$50k
Undergrads
30k

University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley, CA
Acceptance
11%
Deal
86
Out-of-state tuition
$51k
Undergrads
33k

San Diego State University
San Diego, CA
Acceptance
36%
Deal
85
Out-of-state tuition
$21k
Undergrads
35k

California State University-Long Beach
Long Beach, CA
Acceptance
46%
Deal
88
Out-of-state tuition
$20k
Undergrads
36k

University of California-Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Acceptance
33%
Deal
82
Out-of-state tuition
$51k
Undergrads
23k

University of California-Davis
Davis, CA
Acceptance
42%
Deal
84
Out-of-state tuition
$51k
Undergrads
32k
Explore more
Nearby colleges
How much do families pay at University of California-San Diego?
| Family income | Average net price (in-state students) |
|---|---|
| $0 to $30,000 | $7,525 |
| $30,001 to $48,000 | $8,155 |
| $48,001 to $75,000 | $9,942 |
| $75,001 to $110,000 | $15,199 |
| Over $110,000 | $28,785 |
Average net price after grants for in-state students, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab
See your real chances and true cost at University of California-San Diego