Skip to main content
Campus photo
Photo: Larry D. Moore / Wikimedia Commons / CC BY 4.0

The University of Texas at Austin

Austin, TX

PublicCity: LargeYellow Ribbon (undergraduate)Test Optional
Visit Site
27%
Acceptance Rate
42,855
Undergraduates
$45k
Out-of-state tuition
89%
6-yr grad rate
$75k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)

Want help deciding if The University of Texas at Austin is worth it?

Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.

Data as of September 2026
Can I Get In?
27%
Very Selective
Acceptance Rate (2024-25)
Test Optional
27% of applicants admitted
SAT Range (2023-24)1250–1510
ACT Range (2023-24)27–33
$75 application fee
42,855 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Public · City: Large
Your MatchBasic and up
27% acceptance rate. Compare your scores against admitted students — is this a Match, Reach, or Safety for you?
Can I Afford It?
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)
$44,908
Average Net Price (2023-24)
$19,857
This college's average after grants, all family incomes. Not your price.
$20,500Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$75,121/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio27%
Your Net Price EstimateBasic and up
See what The University of Texas at Austin is likely to cost at your family's income, after grants.
Why Go Here?
6-yr grad rate89%
First-year retention97%
$75k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
18:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
42.9k
Undergraduates
Large
Public · City: Large
Your Scores HereBasic and up
Is this school right for you? See how your SAT, ACT and GPA compare with admitted students.
How Does It Stack Up?
#194
Deal Score in TX
of 329 rated colleges
Deal Score72
Good value
28% First-Gen Students
26% Pell Grant Recipients
Your Admission ChanceBasic and up
See your admission chance at The University of Texas at Austin, based on your scores and GPA.
Get Basic →
At a Glance
The University of Texas at Austin is a public college in Austin, TX. It enrolls 42,855 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
72
/ 100
Good value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
18:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
1250–1510
SAT (2023-24)
Not reported
GPA (CDS 2024-25)
Test Optional
Application Deadline
Not reported
via ApplyTexas, Common Application
Cost & Financial Aid
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)$44,908
Avg net price, % of cost of attendance (2023-24)64%
Students Receiving Aid (CDS 2024-25)43%
Room & Board (2024-25)$14,828
Median Debt at Graduation$20,500
Highest-Earning Programs
Computer and Information Sciences, General$112k/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$97k/yr
Business/Commerce, General$94k/yr
Chemical Engineering$87k/yr
Petroleum Engineering$87k/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$87k/yr
The Vibe
8
Rigor
8
Career
7
Value
City: Large
Setting

Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.

College Decoded Grades

A
Academics
B
Value
A
Outcomes
A+
Diversity
Not enough data
Housing

Explore more

All colleges in Texas

Careers graduates pursue

How much do families pay at The University of Texas at Austin?

Average net price by family income at The University of Texas at Austin
Family incomeAverage net price
$0 to $30,000$12,553
$30,001 to $48,000$14,297
$48,001 to $75,000$17,207
$75,001 to $110,000$24,406
Over $110,000$30,082

Average net price after grants, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab

See your real chances and true cost at The University of Texas at Austin