Representative photo
Iowa Lakes Community College
Estherville, IA
100%
Acceptance Rate
941
Undergraduates
$8k
Out-of-state tuition
50%
Completion rate (150% time)
$43k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
Want help deciding if Iowa Lakes Community College is worth it?
Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.
Data as of May 2026
Can I Get In?
100%
Open Admission
Acceptance Rate (2023-24)
SAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
941 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Public · Town: Remote
Can I Afford It?
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)
$7,872
Average Net Price (2023-24)
$13,933
This college's average after grants, all family incomes. Not your price.
$12,000Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$43,108/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio28%
Why Go Here?
$43k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
14:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
941
Undergraduates
Small
Public · Town: Remote
How Does It Stack Up?
#17
Deal Score in IA
of 68 rated colleges
Deal Score82
Excellent value
37% First-Gen Students
19% Pell Grant Recipients
At a Glance
Iowa Lakes Community College serves the Iowa Great Lakes region with campuses in Estherville and Emmetsburg. It is a comprehensive community college known for its unique programs and its commitment to student success. The vibe is friendly, scenic, and practical; students here often enjoy a true collegiate experience with residence halls and outdoor recreation opportunities. It is a place where potential is nurtured near the lakes.
Iowa Lakes offers a wide range of transfer and career programs. It is particularly known for its strong programs in wind energy, nursing, and criminal justice. Tuition is affordable at roughly $7,200 for residents. The college emphasizes hands-on learning and has strong partnerships with local industry. Iowa Lakes provides a supportive environment with robust student services.
Deal Score
82
/ 100
Excellent value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
14:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
Not reported
GPA (CDS)
Application Deadline
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)$7,872
Avg net price, % of cost of attendance (2023-24)69%
Room & Board (2024-25)$8,310
Median Debt at Graduation$12,000
How to Apply
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
4
Career
8
Value
Town: Remote
Setting
Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.
College Decoded Grades
Not enough data
Academics
A
Value
C
Outcomes
C
Diversity
Not enough data
Housing
Similar Schools to Explore
View all →
RepresentativeSouth Central College
North Mankato, MN
Acceptance
100%
Deal
82
Out-of-state tuition
$6k
Undergrads
2k
RepresentativeOhio University-Lancaster Campus
Lancaster, OH
Acceptance
100%
Deal
82
Out-of-state tuition
$9k
Undergrads
691
RepresentativeCity Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College
Chicago, IL
Acceptance
100%
Deal
82
Out-of-state tuition
$15k
Undergrads
2k
RepresentativeDakota College at Bottineau
Bottineau, ND
Acceptance
100%
Deal
82
Out-of-state tuition
$6k
Undergrads
399

Ohio University-Southern Campus
Ironton, OH
Acceptance
100%
Deal
82
Out-of-state tuition
$9k
Undergrads
415
RepresentativeOhio University-Chillicothe Campus
Chillicothe, OH
Acceptance
100%
Deal
83
Out-of-state tuition
$9k
Undergrads
833
Explore more
How much do families pay at Iowa Lakes Community College?
| Family income | Average net price |
|---|---|
| $0 to $30,000 | $11,420 |
| $30,001 to $48,000 | $11,764 |
| $48,001 to $75,000 | $13,097 |
| $75,001 to $110,000 | $16,461 |
| Over $110,000 | $17,325 |
Average net price after grants, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab
See your real chances and true cost at Iowa Lakes Community College