Skip to main content
Campus photo
Photo: Stepheng3 / Wikimedia Commons / CC BY-SA 3.0

Sonoma State University

Rohnert Park, CA

PublicSuburb: LargeTest Optional
Visit Site
93%
Acceptance Rate
5,166
Undergraduates
$21k
Out-of-state tuition
58%
6-yr grad rate
$66k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)

Want help deciding if Sonoma State University is worth it?

Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.

Data as of May 2026
Can I Get In?
93%
Accessible
Acceptance Rate (2024-25)
Test Optional
93% of applicants admitted
SAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
Avg Admitted GPA (CDS)3.25
$70 application fee
5,166 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Public · Suburb: Large
Your MatchBasic and up
93% acceptance rate. Compare your scores against admitted students — is this a Match, Reach, or Safety for you?
Can I Afford It?
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)
$21,224
Average Net Price (2023-24)
$12,885
This college's average after grants, all family incomes. Not your price.
$16,705Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$65,986/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio25%
Your Net Price EstimateBasic and up
See what Sonoma State University is likely to cost at your family's income, after grants.
Why Go Here?
6-yr grad rate58%
First-year retention79%
$66k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
15:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
5.2k
Undergraduates
Midsize
Public · Suburb: Large
Your Scores HereBasic and up
Is this school right for you? See how your SAT, ACT and GPA compare with admitted students.
How Does It Stack Up?
#102
Deal Score in CA
of 492 rated colleges
Deal Score84
Excellent value
41% First-Gen Students
36% Pell Grant Recipients
Your Admission ChanceBasic and up
See your admission chance at Sonoma State University, based on your scores and GPA.
Get Basic →
At a Glance
Sonoma State University is a public college in Rohnert Park, CA. It enrolls 5,166 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
84
/ 100
Excellent value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
15:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
3.25
GPA (CDS)
Test Optional
Application Deadline
Not reported
via Cal State Apply
Cost & Financial Aid
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)$21,224
Avg net price, % of cost of attendance (2023-24)52%
Students Receiving Aid (CDS 2024-25)58%
Room & Board (2024-25)$16,802
Median Debt at Graduation$16,705
Highest-Earning Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$126k/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$78k/yr
Computer Science$66k/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$55k/yr
Economics$54k/yr
Political Science and Government$44k/yr
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
7
Career
8
Value
Suburb: Large
Setting

Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.

College Decoded Grades

Not enough data
Academics
A
Value
C
Outcomes
A
Diversity
Not enough data
Housing

Explore more

All colleges in California

Nearby colleges

Careers graduates pursue

How much do families pay at Sonoma State University?

Average net price by family income at Sonoma State University
Family incomeAverage net price
$0 to $30,000$8,310
$30,001 to $48,000$9,795
$48,001 to $75,000$10,741
$75,001 to $110,000$13,897
Over $110,000$21,195

Average net price after grants, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab

See your real chances and true cost at Sonoma State University