Campus photo
Photo: Pacific Southwest Region USFWS from Sacramento, US / Wikimedia Commons / Public domainUniversity of California-Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
33%
Acceptance Rate
23,113
Undergraduates
$51k
Out-of-state tuition
83%
6-yr grad rate
$75k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
Want help deciding if University of California-Santa Barbara is worth it?
Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.
Data as of September 2026
Can I Get In?
33%
Very Selective
Acceptance Rate (2024-25)
Test BlindSAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
Avg Admitted GPA (CDS 2024-25)4.30
$80 application fee
23,113 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Public · Suburb: Midsize
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
Can I Afford It?
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)
$50,614
Average Net Price, In-State (2023-24)
$16,109
This college's average after grants for in-state students, all family incomes. Not your price.
$13,993Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$74,915/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio19%
Why Go Here?
$75k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
17:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
23.1k
Undergraduates
Large
Public · Suburb: Midsize
How Does It Stack Up?
#128
Deal Score in CA
of 492 rated colleges
Deal Score82
Excellent value
42% First-Gen Students
28% Pell Grant Recipients
42Days
Next Application Deadline
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
From the school’s admissions page, checked Sep 23, 2026. The year is projected for this cycle; confirm it with the school. Source
At a Glance
University of California-Santa Barbara is a public college in Santa Barbara, CA. It enrolls 23,113 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
82
/ 100
Excellent value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
17:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
4.30
GPA (CDS 2024-25)
Test Blind
Application Deadline
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
via UC Application
Cost & Financial Aid
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)$50,614
Avg net price (in-state students), % of cost of attendance (2023-24)39%
Room & Board (2024-25)$20,279
Median Debt at Graduation$13,993
Highest-Earning Programs
Computer Science$108k/yr
Computer Engineering$91k/yr
Mechanical Engineering$81k/yr
Chemical Engineering$80k/yr
Economics$66k/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$66k/yr
How to Apply
Application deadlineNov 30, 2026
From the school’s admissions page; years projected for fall 2027 entry. Source
Apply via
UC Application
$80 fee
Explore Careers
Discover careers related to University of California-Santa Barbara's top programs
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
7
Career
8
Value
Suburb: Midsize
Setting
Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.
College Decoded Grades
Not enough data
Academics
A
Value
A
Outcomes
A+
Diversity
Similar Schools to Explore
View all →
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo, CA
Acceptance
31%
Deal
72
Out-of-state tuition
$35k
Undergrads
22k

University of California-Irvine
Irvine, CA
Acceptance
29%
Deal
85
Out-of-state tuition
$50k
Undergrads
30k

University of California-San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Acceptance
27%
Deal
86
Out-of-state tuition
$51k
Undergrads
35k

University of California-Davis
Davis, CA
Acceptance
42%
Deal
84
Out-of-state tuition
$51k
Undergrads
32k

San Diego State University
San Diego, CA
Acceptance
36%
Deal
85
Out-of-state tuition
$21k
Undergrads
35k

University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley, CA
Acceptance
11%
Deal
86
Out-of-state tuition
$51k
Undergrads
33k
Explore more
Nearby colleges
How much do families pay at University of California-Santa Barbara?
| Family income | Average net price (in-state students) |
|---|---|
| $0 to $30,000 | $9,231 |
| $30,001 to $48,000 | $9,992 |
| $48,001 to $75,000 | $12,588 |
| $75,001 to $110,000 | $17,136 |
| Over $110,000 | $31,863 |
Average net price after grants for in-state students, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab
See your real chances and true cost at University of California-Santa Barbara