Skip to main content
Campus photo
Photo: Joshbiggs / Wikimedia Commons / CC BY-SA 4.0

Northern Arizona University

Flagstaff, AZ

PublicCity: SmallYellow Ribbon (undergraduate)Test Optional
Visit Site
90%
Acceptance Rate
22,903
Undergraduates
$30k
Out-of-state tuition
61%
6-yr grad rate
$54k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)

Want help deciding if Northern Arizona University is worth it?

Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.

Data as of September 2026
Can I Get In?
90%
Accessible
Acceptance Rate (2024-25)
Test Optional
90% of applicants admitted
SAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
Avg Admitted GPA (CDS 2024-25)3.70
$40 application fee
22,903 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Public · City: Small
Your MatchBasic and up
90% acceptance rate. Compare your scores against admitted students — is this a Match, Reach, or Safety for you?
What Northern Arizona University rates very important: Academic GPA (its 2025-26 Common Data Set). This is how the college weighs all applicants, not part of your chance above. · Source
Can I Afford It?
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)
$29,881
Average Net Price (2023-24)
$14,158
This college's average after grants, all family incomes. Not your price.
$19,000Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$54,384/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio35%
Your Net Price EstimateBasic and up
See what Northern Arizona University is likely to cost at your family's income, after grants.
Why Go Here?
6-yr grad rate61%
First-year retention75%
$54k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
19:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
22.9k
Undergraduates
Large
Public · City: Small
Your Scores HereBasic and up
Is this school right for you? See how your SAT, ACT and GPA compare with admitted students.
How Does It Stack Up?
#10
Deal Score in AZ
of 82 rated colleges
Deal Score84
Excellent value
39% First-Gen Students
31% Pell Grant Recipients
Your Admission ChanceBasic and up
See your admission chance at Northern Arizona University, based on your scores and GPA.
Get Basic →
At a Glance
Northern Arizona University is a public college in Flagstaff, AZ. It enrolls 22,903 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
84
/ 100
Excellent value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
19:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
3.70
GPA (CDS 2024-25)
Test Optional
Application Deadline
Not reported
via Common Application
Cost & Financial Aid
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)$29,881
Avg net price, % of cost of attendance (2023-24)47%
Students Receiving Aid (CDS 2024-25)65%
Room & Board (2024-25)$14,432
Median Debt at Graduation$19,000
Highest-Earning Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77k/yr
Construction Management$77k/yr
Computer Science$75k/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$71k/yr
Civil Engineering$67k/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$64k/yr
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
5
Career
8
Value
City: Small
Setting

Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.

College Decoded Grades

Not enough data
Academics
A
Value
C
Outcomes
A
Diversity
Not enough data
Housing

Explore more

All colleges in Arizona

Nearby colleges

Careers graduates pursue

How much do families pay at Northern Arizona University?

Average net price by family income at Northern Arizona University
Family incomeAverage net price
$0 to $30,000$9,709
$30,001 to $48,000$10,398
$48,001 to $75,000$13,330
$75,001 to $110,000$18,050
Over $110,000$20,686

Average net price after grants, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab

See your real chances and true cost at Northern Arizona University