Campus photo
Photo: Daderot / Wikimedia Commons / CC0San Jose State University
San Jose, CA
85%
Acceptance Rate
27,601
Undergraduates
$21k
Out-of-state tuition
69%
6-yr grad rate
$79k
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
Want help deciding if San Jose State University is worth it?
Invite a parent to help you plan. They get a text with a secure link to join and connect to your account.
Data as of September 2026
Can I Get In?
85%
Accessible
Acceptance Rate (2024-25)
Test OptionalSAT RangeNot reported
ACT RangeNot reported
Avg Admitted GPA (CDS)3.25
$70 application fee
27,601 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25)
Public · City: Large
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
Can I Afford It?
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)
$21,010
Average Net Price (2023-24)
$13,760
This college's average after grants, all family incomes. Not your price.
$15,000Median Debt
Median earnings 10 yrs after entry$78,988/yr
Debt-to-earnings ratio19%
Why Go Here?
$79k
Median Earnings
10 yrs after entry
18:1
Student-Faculty Ratio
27.6k
Undergraduates
Large
Public · City: Large
How Does It Stack Up?
#88
Deal Score in CA
of 492 rated colleges
Deal Score85
Excellent value
49% First-Gen Students
35% Pell Grant Recipients
43Days
Next Application Deadline
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
From the school’s admissions page, checked Sep 23, 2026. The year is projected for this cycle; confirm it with the school. Source
At a Glance
San Jose State University is a public college in San Jose, CA. It enrolls 27,601 degree-seeking undergraduates (2024-25).
Deal Score
85
/ 100
Excellent value
Based on cost, earnings, & outcomes
Academics & Admissions
Student-Faculty Ratio
18:1
SAT Middle 50% / Avg GPA
Not reported
SAT
3.25
GPA (CDS)
Test Optional
Application Deadline
Application deadline: Nov 30, 2026
via Cal State Apply
Cost & Financial Aid
Out-of-state tuition (2024-25)$21,010
Avg net price, % of cost of attendance (2023-24)52%
Students Receiving Aid (CDS 2024-25)55%
Room & Board (2024-25)$20,971
Median Debt at Graduation$15,000
How to Apply
Application deadlineNov 30, 2026
From the school’s admissions page; years projected for fall 2027 entry. Source
Apply via
Cal State Apply
$70 fee
The Vibe
Not enough data
Rigor
8
Career
9
Value
City: Large
Setting
Out of 10. Rigor from the SAT middle-50% midpoint (400 = 0, 1600 = 10); Career from median earnings 10 years after entry ($10k per point); Value is the Deal Score ÷ 10. Setting is the federal locale.
College Decoded Grades
Not enough data
Academics
A
Value
B
Outcomes
A+
Diversity
Not enough data
Housing
Similar Schools to Explore
View all →
Riverside City College
Riverside, CA
Acceptance
100%
Deal
85
Out-of-state tuition
$12k
Undergrads
18k

Santa Rosa Junior College
Santa Rosa, CA
Acceptance
100%
Deal
85
Out-of-state tuition
$11k
Undergrads
15k

Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill, CA
Acceptance
100%
Deal
85
Out-of-state tuition
$10k
Undergrads
15k

Fullerton College
Fullerton, CA
Acceptance
100%
Deal
85
Out-of-state tuition
$12k
Undergrads
17k

City College of San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
Acceptance
100%
Deal
85
Out-of-state tuition
$15k
Undergrads
17k

California State University-Fresno
Fresno, CA
Acceptance
95%
Deal
86
Out-of-state tuition
$20k
Undergrads
22k
Explore more
Nearby colleges
How much do families pay at San Jose State University?
| Family income | Average net price |
|---|---|
| $0 to $30,000 | $9,730 |
| $30,001 to $48,000 | $10,114 |
| $48,001 to $75,000 | $12,099 |
| $75,001 to $110,000 | $15,102 |
| Over $110,000 | $22,862 |
Average net price after grants, from the federal College Scorecard. See the full Cost tab
See your real chances and true cost at San Jose State University